The open carry of firearms in Nevada is legal without the need of a license or registration. Though people are required to obtain a Nevada CCW permit to carry a concealed weapon in Nevada. There are specific locations where guns are prohibited, including:
*VA facilities, and
People face stiff Nevada State Prison sentences for violating specific firearm laws, including using a gun in the commission of a Nevada crime or being a felon in possession of a firearm in Nevada. But it is possible to pay a fine for other gun crimes, such as brandishing a gun in Nevada or possessing a firearm under the influence in Nevada.
Nevada requires background checks for all gun sales (unless the purchaser has a CCW permit). People who lose their Nevada gun rights might be able to get them back through a Nevada pardon. With some exceptions, children under 18 may not possess guns. And immigrants convicted of a firearm crime risk deportation.
Prohibited gun locations in Nevada
Nevada does not permit pistols, handguns, and rifles at the following Nevada locations:
* airports (past the secure areas) and planes,
*childcare facilities (without written permission),
*public schools and private schools (without written consent),
*Nevada System of Higher Education property (without written consent),
*military bases (with some exceptions) and
Possessing a gun in a prohibited location is a Nevada misdemeanor, carrying:
*up to six (6) months in jail, and/or
*up to $1,000 in fines, and
*maybe community service in Nevada.
OPEN CARRY LAWS IN NEVADA
Open carry is legal throughout Nevada unless otherwise forbidden by federal or state law.
CONCEALED CARRY LAWS IN NEVADA
Concealed carry is legal throughout Nevada as long as the person has a valid carrying concealed weapons (CCW) permit. Nevada residents need a CCW permit from the county where they reside. For non-Nevada residents, the Department of Public Safety recognizes CCW permits from individual states. Otherwise, they need to get a Nevada CCW permit.
Concealed carry without a valid permit is a category C felony in Nevada, carrying:
one to five (1 – 5) years in prison and
maybe a $10,000 fine.