While we are close to saying goodbye to 2019, I have discovered that many may be unaware of the implementation of 4 important new auto laws in 2018. While many may say ignorance of the law is bliss, there can be consequences to that ignorance. To avoid any cost consequences to your pockets, you should be aware of the following:
1.”Move Over” Law
As of July 1, 2018, Nevada drivers will have to extend the same safety precautions to the Department of Transportation vehicles as required for emergency response vehicles. Drivers will have to move over if possible and give way to NDOT vehicles with lights on or those displaying flashing lights and give them extra room on the roadway.
2. Use of the fast lane
Slow drivers in the fast lane holding back traffic behind them may be subject to a ticket under another new law coming in to effect in July. This law is intended to keep traffic flowing smoothly and cut down on the instances of road rage.
3.Pets in hot cars
Animal rights supporters will be happy to learn that under another new law in 2018, law enforcement, animal control, and other public safety workers are now allowed to use reasonable means to remove pets left unattended in vehicles in extreme weather conditions without fear of civil liability. Another law raised the penalty for leaving a pet in a hot locked car to the same level as leaving a child in the car.
4.Minimum Insurance Limits
The minimum insurance limits each driver is required to carry is increasing later this year from $15/30/10 to $25/50/20. This means a driver will be required to carry insurance of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $20,000 for property damage only. Nevada was only one of six States that carried such a low limit and increasing the minimum limits will hopefully go some way in helping to protect innocent victims injured in car accidents. However, it is still important to look at your insurance coverage and check whether you have med-pay (medical payments coverage) or UM/UIM (uninsured/under insured coverage) in case the driver who causes an injury accident has no insurance or not enough insurance to cover your losses.